Prove you're human!

List of Courses Offered at National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)


University’s Name: National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN). Location: Abuja, Nigeria. Official Website:

In this article, you would get to know all the undergraduate degree courses and programmes offered in the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).

The National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) was first established in 1983 as a Federal Open and Distance Learning (ODL) institution – the first of its kind in West Africa, but was later suspended by the Nigerian government. However, the resuscitation of the university was done by the President Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo administration in 2001. By nature of the university as an Open and Distance Learning institution, NOUN does not provide lectures to students in normal classrooms, all lectures are done online, except some certain study centres.

courses in national open university
Natioanl Open University of Nigeria's Entrance Gate

The list of undergraduate courses offered in the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) is as follows;

List of Courses at National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)

Faculty of Agricultural Sciences        

1.     B.Sc. Agricultural Extension and Management     

2.     B. Agric. (Agricultural Extension and Rural Development Option)

3.     B. Agric. (Crop Production and Protection Sciences Option)     

4.     B. Agric. (Soil and Land Resources Management Option)

5.     B. Agric. (Agricultural Economics and Agro Business Option) 

6.     B. Agric. (Aquaculture and Fisheries Management Option)      

7.     B. Agric. (Animal Science Option)              

8.     B.Sc. Hotel and Catering Management        

Faculty of Arts

1.     B.A. Philosophy  

2.     B.A. Yoruba          

3.     B.A. Hausa

4.     B.A. Igbo             

5.     B.A. Arabic Language and Literature

6.     B.A. Islamic Studies      

7.     B.A. Christian Religious Studies                 

8.     B.A. French

9.     English                

Access and General Studies Centre for Entrepreneurship and General Studies (CE&GS)     

Faculty of Education

1.     B.Sc. (Ed) Human Kinetics               

2.     B.Sc. (Ed) Library and Information Science           

3.     B.Sc.(Ed) Health Education     

4.     B.Sc.(Ed) Business Education           

5.     B.A.(Ed) Primary Education              

6.     B.A.(Ed) French Education

7.     B.A.(Ed) English Education    

8.     B.A.(Ed) Early Childhood Education           

9.     B.Sc.(Ed) Physics Education   

10. B.Sc.(Ed) Mathematics Education

11. B.Sc.(Ed) Computer Science Education

12. B.Sc.(Ed) Integrated Science Education

13. B.Sc.(Ed) Chemistry Education

14. B.Sc.(Ed) Biology Education  

15. B.Sc.(Ed) Agricultural Science Education  

Faculty of Health Sciences

1.     B.Sc. Environmental Health Science            

2.     B.Sc. Public Health                 

3.     B.NSc. Bachelor of Nursing Science  

Faculty of Law

1.     LLB Law   

Faculty of Management Sciences       

2.     B.Sc. Banking and Finance      

3.     B.Sc. Marketing             

4.     BSc. Public Administration     

5.     B.Sc. Business Administration           

6.     B.Sc. Accounting           

7.     B.Sc. Entrepreneurship  

8.     B.Sc. Cooperative and Rural Development            

9.     B.Sc. Data Management

Faculty of Sciences   

1.     B.Sc. Physics       

2.     B.Sc. Biology

3.     B.Sc. Chemistry             

4.     B.Sc. Mathematics/Computer Science          

5.     B.Sc. Mathematics Sciences     

6.     B.Sc. Environmental Management and Toxicology          

7.     B.Sc. Computer Science           

8.     B.Sc. Information Technology           

Faculty of Social Sciences

1.        B.Sc. Development Studies              

2.        B.Sc. Broadcasting                 

3.        B.Sc. Film Production  

4.        B.Sc. International and Diplomatic Studies

5.        B.Sc. Tourism Studies            

6.        B.Sc. Economics

7.        B.Sc. Political Science

8.        B.Sc. Mass Communication   

9.        B.Sc. Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution        

10.    B.Sc. Criminology and Security Studies


National Open University’s Vision, Mission Statement and Objectives


The National Open University of Nigeria is to be regarded as the foremost university providing highly accessible and enhanced quality education anchored by social justice, equity, equality and national cohesion through a comprehensive reach that transcends all barriers.



To provide functional, cost-effective, flexible learning which adds life-long value to quality education for all who seek knowledge.



In addition to the broad vision and mission statements, some of the major objectives of the National Open University of Nigeria is to:

1.     Ensure equity and equality of opportunities in education generally but specifically in university education;

2.     Provide a wider access to education generally but specifically university education in Nigeria;

3.     Enhance Education for All and life-long learning;

4.     Provide the entrenchment of global learning culture;

5.     Provide instructional resources via an intensive use of information and communication technology;

6.     Provide flexible, but qualitative education; and

7.     Reduce the cost, inconveniences, and hassles of easy access to education and its delivery.


Follow Us On Twitter

You May Also Like