Prove you're human!

List of Courses Offered in Kogi State University (KSU)


University’s Name: Kogi State University. Location: Anyigba, Kogi State Nigeria. Official Website:

In this article, you would get to know all the courses offered in Kogi State University (KSU) formerly, Prince Abubakar Audu University (PAAU).

courses in ksu

Kogi State University (KSU) is a state-owned university established by the Kogi State Government in 1999. KSU was established by the former governor of Kogi State, Prince Abubakar Audu. At the time the university was created it was known as Kogi State University, but the name was later changed to Prince Abubakar Audu University (PAAU) in 2002. Later on in 2003 the university was renamed for the third time to Kogi State University.

The list of undergraduate degree courses and programmes offered in Kogi State University is as follows;

List of Faculties, Departments and Courses in Kogi State University (KSU):

Faculty of Agriculture

Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension (Option):

·        B.Sc. Agricultural Economics and Extension

Department of Animal Production (Option):

·        B.Sc. Animal Production

Department of Soil and Environmental Management (Option):

·        B.Sc. Soil and Environmental Management

Department of Crop Production:

·        B.Sc. Crop Production

Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture:

·        B.Sc. Fisheries and Aquaculture

Department of Food Science and Technology:

·        B.Sc. Food Science and Technology

Department of Home Sciences:

·        B.Sc. Home Sciences


Faculty of Art and Humanities

Department of Arabic Language and Literature:

·        B.A. Arabic Language and Literature

Department of English and Literary Studies:

·        B.A. English and Literary Studies

Department of History and International Studies:

·        B.A. History and International Studies

Department of Islamic Studies:

·        B.A. Islamic Studies

Department of Philosophy:

·        B.A. Philosophy

Department of Christian Religious Studies:

·        B.A. Christian Religious Studies

Department of Theatre Arts:

·        B.A. Theatre Arts


Faculty of Education

Department of Education / Christian Religious Studies:

·        B.A. (Ed.) Education / Christian Religious Studies

Department of Education / English:

·        B.A. (Ed.) Education / English

Department of Human Kinetics:

·        B.Sc. Human Kinetics

Department of Library and Information:

·        B.Sc. Library and Information

Department of Education / Biology:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Biology

Department of Education / Chemistry:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Chemistry

Department of Education / Mathematics:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Mathematics

Department of Education / Physics:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Physics

Department of Education / Economics:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Economics

Department of Education / Geography:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Geography

Department of Education / Social Studies:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Social Studies

Department of Education / Islamic Studies:

·        B.Sc. (Ed.) Education / Islamic Studies


Faculty of Health Science

Department of Medicine:

·        MBBS Medicine and Surgery


Faculty of Law

Department of Common Law

Department of Islamic Law


Faculty of Management Sciences

Department of Accounting:

·        B.Sc. Accounting

Department of Banking and Finance:

·        B.Sc. Banking and Finance

Department of Business Administration:

·        B.Sc. Business Administration

Department of Public Administration:

·        B.Sc. Public Administration


Faculty of Natural Sciences

Department of Biochemistry:

·        B.Sc. Biochemistry

Department of Botany:

·        B.Sc. Botany

Department of Chemistry:

·        B.Sc. Chemistry

Department of Computer Science:

·        B.Sc. Computer Science

Department of Earth Sciences (Geology):

·        B.Sc. Geology

Department of Industrial Chemistry:

·        B.Sc. Industrial Chemistry

Department of Mathematical Sciences:

·        B.Sc. Mathematical Sciences

Department of Statistics:

·        B.Sc. Statistics

Department of Microbiology:

·        B.Sc. Microbiology

Department of Physics:

·        B.Sc. Physics

Department of Zoology:

·        B.Sc. Zoology


Faculty of Social Sciences

Department of Economics:

·        B.Sc. Economics

Department of Geography and Planning:

·        B.Sc. Geography and Planning

Department of Mass Communication

·        B.Sc. Mass Communication

Department of Political Science:

·        B.Sc. Political Science

Department of Sociology:

·        B.Sc. Sociology


Prince Abubakar Audu University’s Vision, Mission and Core Values:

Vision Statement

Kogi State University shall be highly reputable institution genuinely committed to impacting knowledge, learning, scholarship and skills to all men and women in order to equip them to confront and control the challenges of the next centuries. The aspiration is to:

Maintain and sustain the university as an apex institution through accountable, consultative, focused, interactive, innovative, purposeful, team –based, result-oriented and transparent leadership and management to constantly utilized existing knowledge and generate new ones.

Use first class and state of the arts facilities, highly motivated staff and students working in an atmosphere of academic freedom and security to transform the university into a world class center.

Ensure a high standard of academic excellent, discipline, integrity and intellectual heritage.

Reflect and impact positively on the culture, traditions and the social-economic needs of the society.


Mission Statement

Kogi State University shall advance appropriate and effective learning and exploit new frontiers of knowledge. This shall be achieved through:

Effective teaching, research and dissemination of research-based knowledge which shall be of the highest standard

Regular strategic planning, needs assessment, and re-training to produce high quality man power and sustain capacity building.

Consolidation the achievement so far recorded by constant evaluation and monitoring

Consolidating and expanding post graduate programmes which shall be of the highest quality with emphasize on staff development to ensure continuity as well as serving the needs of the academia.

Aggressive and focused expansion by creating new centers and programmes to meet the needs and aspirations of the changing society.

Establishing and nurturing local, nation and international partnerships and integration.

Serving as a positive model and conscience of the society and for the society.


Core Values

The core values of Kogi State University shall be:

Collaboration, by aggressive and sustain linkages, partnerships, inter-and multi-disciplinarily to create new avenues of support, understanding and enquiry.

Dedication, by commitments to uncompromising work ethic and critical issues of development of the State, the Nation and the world at large.

Entrepreneurship, by openness to innovative ideas and skills, prudent use of resources and rapid response to challenges.

Fairness, by commitments to staff and student welfare, personal development of the members of the University community and the immediate environments.

Integrity, by paying attention to the highest ethical standards in all areas, commitments to being a University that welcomes talented minds from different backgrounds and challenges the to achieve optimum potentials

Transparency, demonstrated by accountability, opening communication and pro-bity.

Responsibility, by ensuring prudent and responsible stewardship of resources.


Follow Us On Twitter

You May Also Like