Prove you're human!

List of 70 prominent Nigerians that attended Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria


Established in 1961, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, began following the recommendation of the Ashby Commission on "Post-School Certificate and Higher Education in Nigeria". A Law establishing a Provisional Council for the University was passed by the Legislature of Northern Nigeria in April while the Council itself was constituted in November, 1961, under the Chairmanship of the Hon. Shettima Kashim, CBE, who later became Sir Kashim Ibrahim KCMG, CBE. 

List of 70 Prominent Nigerians that attended Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria
ABU logo
Sir Norman Stanley Alexander, a New Zealander and a Professor of Physics at the University College, Ibadan, was appointed the First Principal, later Vice-Chancellor, of the University in July and he assumed office in November, 1961.

List of 70 Prominent Nigerians that attended Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria
ABU Entrance Gate
Ahmadu Bello University began full operation in 1962, on the cites of these educational institutions: the defunct Nigerian College of Arts, Science and Technology, founded in 1955; the Clerical Training Centre, Kongo, founded in 1957; the Samaru Agricultural Research Station, established in  1924, and the Shika Livestock Farm, started in 1928. The University was named after Sir Ahmadu Bello (1901-1966), "the Sardauna of Sokoto" and the Premier of Northern Nigeria. As the first Chancellor of the University, Sir Ahmadu Bello performed its Opening Ceremony on the 4th of October, 1962. In 1975, the University was taken over by the Federal Government through a Decree (the Ahmadu Bello University [Transitional] Provisions Decree of 1975), thus becoming a Federal University.

List of 70 Prominent Nigerians that attended Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria
Backview of ABU Senate Building
The total student enrolment in the University's degree and sub-degree programmes is about 35,000, drawn from every State of the Federation, Africa and the rest of the world. Currently, the University has about 1,400 academic and research staff and over 6000 non-teaching, senior and junior administrative staff. The University has also nurtured two University Colleges, - the Abdullahi Bayero College (now Bayero University Kano (BUK)), Kano State and the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa College (now Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU)), Bauchi State, while 27 institutions made up of Colleges of Education, Polytechnics and Schools of Basic or Preliminary Studies are currently affiliated to it.

The Ahmadu Bello University is notable for producing prominent people and Nigerian leaders, including many former presidents, former and current state governors and ministers. Amongst the alumni are:

1.            Atiku Abubakar GCON, former Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Presidential Aspirant
List of 70 Prominent Nigerians that attended Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria
Atiku Abubakar GCON
2.              Abdullahi Aliyu Sumaila , administrator
3.              Abdullahi Mustapha , former Vice Chancellor (ABU)
4.              Abubakar Ibn Umar Garba, Shehu of Borno,
5.              Adamu Mu'azu , former Bauchi State governor
6.              Afakriya Gadzama , former Director General Nigerian State Security Service
7.              Ahmed Abdullah, OON, former Agriculture and Rural Development Minister
8.              Ahmed Makarfi , former Kaduna state governor
9.              Ahmed Tijjani Mora, pharmacist, President ABU Alumni Association
10.         Aminu Safana, doctor/politician
11.         Andrew Yakubu, former group MD, NNPC
12.         Anthony Ayine , auditor general for the Federation
13.         Attahiru Jega , Professor, former chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
14.         Ayodele Awojobi, Scientist and Professor at University of Lagos
15.         Azubuike Ihejirika, former Chief of Army Staff
16.         Bukar Abba Ibrahim , former Governor, Yobe State
17.         Catherine Uju Ifejika , chairman and CEO, Brittania-U Limited
18.         Dahiru Musdapher , former Chief Justice of Nigeria
19.         Danbaba Danfulani Suntai , former Governor, Taraba State
20.         Dino Melaye , Senator, Kogi West
21.         Donald Duke , former Cross River state governor
22.         Faruk Imam, Justice, Kogi state Judiciary
23.         Ghali Umar Na'Abba , former Speaker, House of Representatives
24.         Ibrahim Garba , current Vice Chancellor (ABU)
25.         Ibrahim Geidam , Governor, Yobe State
26.         Ibrahim H. Umar , former Vice Chancellor and scientist
27.         Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo , Governor, Gombe State
28.         Ibrahim Kpotun Idris , current IGP, Nigeria Police Force
29.         Ibrahim Lamorde , former chairman, EFCC
30.         Ibrahim Shekarau , former Kano state governor
31.         Ibrahim Shema , former Governor, Katsina State
32.         Ibrahim Zakzaky prominent Shi'ite-Islam cleric, founder Islamic Movement in Nigeria.
33.         Idris M. Bugaje, professor, Rector of Kaduna Polytechnic (KADPOLY)
34.         Idris Legbo Kutigi , former Chief Justice of Nigeria
35.         Isa Marte Hussaini, professor, pharmacologist
36.         Isa Yuguda , former Governor, Bauchi State
37.         Jerry Gana, former Information Minister
38.         Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya , former Kano state governor
39.         Lawal Musa Daura , Director General, Nigerian State Security Service
40.         Mansur Mukhtar, former executive director of the World Bank
41.         Maryam Ciroma , former Minister of Women Affairs
42.         Mike Omotosho , National Chairman of the Labour Party (Nigeria)
43.         Mohammed Bawa, former Ekiti State governor
44.         Mohammed Bello Adoke , former Minister of Justice & Attorney General of the Federation
45.         Muhammad Adamu Aliero, former Governor, Kebbi State
46.         Muhammed K. Abubakar, academic, former Minister
47.         Namadi Sambo, former Vice President of Nigeria
48.         Nasir el-Rufai , Governor Kaduna State
49.         Nenadi Usman, former Finance Minister
50.         Nuhu Ribadu, former chairman, EFCC
51.         Oladipo Diya, GCON, former Vice President/CGS, Federal Republic of Nigeria
52.         Patrick Ibrahim Yakowa , former Governor Kaduna state
53.         Rebecca Ndjoze-Ojo , Namibian, politician
54.         Rilwanu Lukman, former Secretary General OPEC & Petroleum Minister
55.         Samuel Ioraer Ortom , former Minister of State Trade and Investments
56.         Samuel Oboh, architect
57.         Sanusi Lamido, former Governor Central, Bank of Nigeria , current Emir of Kano
58.         Shamsudeen Usman, former Minister of National Planning
59.         Shehu Ladan , former Group MD, NNPC
60.         Solomon Arase , former IGP, Nigeria Police Force
61.         Sunday Awoniyi , Northern Yoruba Leader, former chairman ACF
62.         Turai Yar'Adua , former First Lady
63.         Umaru Musa Yar'Adua , GCFR, former President of Nigeria
64.         Umaru Tanko Al-Makura , Governor, Nasarawa State
65.         Usman Bayero Nafada , former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives
66.         Usman Saidu Nasamu Dakingari , Governor, Kebbi State
67.         Ussif Rashid Sumaila , economist
68.         Yahaya Bello, governor, Kogi state
69.         Yayale Ahmed, former Secretary to the Government of the Federation
70.         Zainab Abdulkadir Kure, politician


Follow Us On Twitter

You May Also Like