Prove you're human!

List of Courses Offered in Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo (FUNAI)


University’s Name: Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo. Location: Abakaliki, Ebonyi State, Nigeria. Official Website:

In this article, you would get to know all the courses offered in Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo (AE-FUNAI).

list of courses in funai

The Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo is among the nine (9) universities that were established in 2011 during the administration of Nigeria’s ex-President, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.

The university is located in Ndufu-Alike Ikwo, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State. The list of undergraduate degree programmes offered in the AE-FUNAI are as follows;

List of Courses Offered at Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo (AE-FUNAI)

1.    Faculty of Agriculture

·        B.Sc. Agriculture

·        B.Sc. Fisheries and Aquaculture  


2.    Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Department of Anatomy:

·        B.Sc. Anatomy

Department of Medical Biochemistry:

·        MBBS Medicine and Surgery

Department of Physiology:

·        B.Sc. Physiology


3.    Faculty of Education

Department of Arts and Humanities Education:

·        BA (Ed) English and Literary Studies.

Department of Educational Foundations:

·        B. Ed. Educational Management and

·        B. Ed. Guidance and Counselling.

Department of Science Education:

·        B.Sc. (Ed) Mathematics Education,

·        B.Sc. (Ed) Biology Education,

·        B.Sc. (Ed) Physical and Health Education,

·        B.Sc. (Ed) Physics Education and

·        B.Sc. (Ed) Chemistry Education.

Department of Vocational and Technical Education:

·        B.Sc. (Ed) Business Education.


4.    Faculty of Engineering and Technology

Department of Mechanical Engineering/Mechatronic Engineering

·        B.Eng. Mechatronic Engineering

·        B.Eng. Mechanical Engineering

·        B.Eng. Agricultural Engineering (sub zoomed in Mechanical Engineering for now until graduation)

Department of Electrical/Electronic and Computer Engineering

·        B.Eng. Electrical/Electronic and Computer Engineering

·        B.Eng. Computer Engineering

Department of Petroleum/Chemical Engineering

·        B.Eng. Petroleum Engineering

·        B.Eng. Chemical Engineering

·        B.Eng. Food Engineering (sub zoomed in Chemical Engineering for now until graduation)

Department of Civil Engineering

·        B.Eng. Civil Engineering


5.    Faculty of Humanities

Department of English and Literary Studies

·        B.A. English Language

Department of Fine and Applied Arts

·        B.A. Visual and Applied Arts

Department of History and Strategic Studies

·        B.A. History

Department of Language and Linguistics

·        B.A. Linguistics

·        B.A. French

·        B.A. Nigerian Languages

Department of Music

·        B.A. Music

     Department of Philosophy/Religious & Cultural Studies

·        B.A. Philosophy

·        B.A. Religious and Cultural Studies

Department of Theatre Arts

·        B.A. Theatre Arts


6.    Faculty of Management and Social Sciences

Department of Accountancy and Banking & Finance

·        B.Sc. Accounting

·        B.Sc. Banking and Finance  

Department of Business Administration

·        B.Sc. Business Administration

Department of Economics and Development Studies

·        B.Sc. Economics

Department of Mass Communication

·        B.Sc. Mass Communication

Department of Political Science

·        B.Sc. Political Science

Department of Psychology

·        B.Sc. Psychology

Department of Sociology/Criminology and Security Studies

·        B.Sc. Criminology and Security Studies

·        B.Sc. Sociology


7.    Faculty of Science

Department of Biology/Microbiology/Biotechnology

·        B.Sc. Biology

·        B.Sc. Microbiology

·        B.Sc. Biotechnology

Department of Chemistry/Biochemistry/Molecular Biology

·        B.Sc. Chemistry

·        B.Sc. Biochemistry

·        B.Sc. Molecular Biology

Department of Mathematics/Computer Science/Statistics/Informatics

·        B.Sc. Mathematics

·        B.Sc. Computer Science

·        B.Sc. Statistics

·        B.Sc. Library and Information Science

Department of Physics/Geology/Geophysics

·        B.Sc. Physics

·        B.Sc. Geology

·        B.Sc. Geophysics

Department of Architecture

·        B.Sc. Architecture


8.    Faculty of Law

·        LLB Law.


Alex Ekwueme Federal Universiy Ndufu-Alike Ikwo’s Mission and Vision


To train top quality human resource that will propel the development of the country by equipping the graduates with the relevant knowledge and skills required in the market place in a globalised world.


To take a leading role in fostering the economic development of Ebonyi State and the entire Nigerian society at large through specific education, training and outreach activities.



The vision of the Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike is to become a vibrant centre of learning and research that will be reputable nationally and internationally and a hub for the economic transformation and development of the region through creative and innovative endeavours.


Follow Us On Twitter

You May Also Like