Prove you're human!

President Buhari Approves the Establishment of 6 New Colleges of Education

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of six new Colleges of Education across the six geopolitical zones in the country. This was announced on Thursday by the Personal Assistant to the President on New Media, Bashir Ahmed, via his Twitter handle and confirmed by a spokesperson for the Federal Ministry of Education, Ben Gooong.

President Muhammadu Buhari

The new institutions as we gathered would be located at Bauchi, Benue, Ebonyi, Osun, Sokoto, and Edo States.

According to a letter signed by the permanent secretary in the ministry of education, Sunny Echono, an inspection was due for May 11 to “facilitate early take-off.’

The letter also stated that the establishment of the institution was to address the emergency education needs of the country particularly in the states where such federal institutions do not exist.

The Permanent Secretary also urged the state governments to accord the members of the team necessary cooperation as they liaise with state officials (Hon. Commissioner and his Team) to ensure adequate arrangement for the commencement of academic activities by October, 2020.

Currently, there are 152 colleges of education in Nigeria, consisting of 21 federal, 82 private and 49 state colleges. The addition of 6 new ones will bring the total to 158.


Follow Us On Twitter

You May Also Like