Prove you're human!

BUK Expels 5 Students for Exam Malpractice Related Offences, Refers 2 Staff to Disciplinary Committee


Five students of Bayero University, Kano (BUK) have been expelled from the institution for their involvement in examination leakage. The disclosure was contained in a report signed by the Director, Directorate of Examinations, Admissions and Records (DEAR), Amina Umar Abdullahi, that the expulsion had been ratified by the Senate of the institution. 

According to the statement, the action taken followed the major decisions of the Senate of the University during its 395 regular meeting held on 22 December, 2021 at the Convocation Arena, New Campus. 

Bui expels students

The statement reads in part: “The Expulsion of the candidates for being involved in sourcing, receiving and sharing the leaked examination leakage documents in accordance with category 20.17(Axiv) of the General Examination and Academic Regulations (GEAR).” 

The erring students who were expelled were: Zainab Aliyu Adamu (CST/15/COM/00437), Amina Muhammad Aliyu (CST/15/COM/00440), Fatima Ubale Gwamnati (CST/15/COM/00901), Abba Sabo (CST/15/COM/00216) and Safiyya Ibrahim Lawal (CST/14/COM/00989). The Senate also observed that two staff were allegedly involved in the case and therefore directed that their case be referred to Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee for further investigation.

The staff involved are Bello Ahmad of Library Department for having connection with the primary source of the leaked document named Zainab Aliyu Adamu and Hafsat Kabir Ahmad of Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology and a wife to Bello Ahmad whose questions appeared in the leaked document. 

Similarly, the Senate exonerated four (4) candidates as the cases of examination misconduct could not be established against them and directed their respective departments to process and release their results. The candidates exonerated are: Abdussalam Muhammad Lawan (EES/19/QSV/00335, Baffa Musa Bashir (EES/19/QSV/00344, Umar Bello Ibrahim (EES/15/GEL/00082 and Zakariya Yawale Musa (EES/16/GEL/00219). 


Follow Us On Twitter

You May Also Like